Wednesday, November 13, 2013

OH and CO Localities Vote on Hydraulic Fracturing Bans

Several localities in Colorado and Ohio voted last Tuesday on ballot measures that would result in hydraulic fracturing bans, and half of the ballot measures succeeded. In Colorado, two cities, Lafayette and Boulder passed bans, but the ban failed in Broomfield, a suburb of Denver, by an extremely narrow margin of 49.97% voting for the 5-year moratorium and 50.03% against (currently unofficial). In Ohio, the ban initiatives failed in Bowling Green and Youngstown, but passed in Oberlin.  The ballot measures were proposed as either community rights bills or hydraulic fracturing moratoriums.  According to the New York Times, both Ohio and Colorado state officials argue that only state officials, not city officials, may regulate oil and gas drilling.

Written by: Tom Panighetti
November 13, 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment