Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Arkansas Bans Disposal Wells in Seismic Area

On July 27, 2011 the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission (AOGC) unanimously approved a permanent ban on disposal wells in sections of two counties due to earthquake activity. Disposal wells currently existing in the area must be plugged according to the ban. This decision was made following a six-month moratorium on disposal wells ordered by the Commission in December of 2010.

Click here to read the new rule

Click here to view a map of the banned area

Written by Andy Schwabenbauer, Research Fellow
Jul 27, 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment